

## Announcement

## 1987 American Conference on Theoretical Chemistry

The next American Conference on Theoretical Chemistry will be held July 26-31 at Gull Lake, Minnesota. The conference site is about 135 miles (215 km) NNW of Minneapolis and is accessible by car, bus, or air to Brainerd, Minnesota or by air to Minneapolis International Airport where buses chartered for the conference will be available on July 26.

This conference is the fourteenth in a long line with a distinguished history, chronicled in The Journal of Physical Chemistry, Volume 89, page 2121. The first conference was held in 1951 at Shelter Island, New York under the chairmanship of Robert Mulliken, and the most recent previous conference was held in 1984 in Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming under the chairmanship of Henry F. Schaefer III. The chairman of the 1987 Conference is Donald G. Truhlar, and the vice chairman is William A. Goddard III.

The 1987 conference will include minisymposia on the electronic structure of surfaces and adsorbates, quantum phenomena in condensed phases, and new techniques in time-dependent dynamics. Other topics featured in the plenary sessions are electronic structure calculations on molecules and reactions, phase transitions and interfaces, phase space dynamics, advances in time-independent quantal scattering theory, and topics at the interface of electronic structure and dynamics. The following persons have already agreed to present a lecture, contribute a poster paper, or serve as discussion leader: Farid Abraham, Jan Almlöf, Rodney Bartlett, Charles Bauschlicher, Bruce Berne, David Chandler, Mark Child, Phillip Christiansen, David Clary, Michael Davis, Jim Doll, Donald Ellis, Daan Frenkel, William Goddard, Martin Gutzwiller, Eric Heller, Kenneth Jordan, Rudy Marcus, Bill McCurdy, Vincent McKoy, Richard Messmer, Horia Metiu. William Miller, Keiji Morokuma, Albert Moscowitz, Robert Parr, Michele Parrinello, Russell Pitzer, Pekka Pyykko, Mark Ratner, Peter Rossky, Fritz Schaefer, George Schatz, Reinhold Schinke, Per Siegbahn, John Wheeler, and Ben Widom.

The Conference will be run "Gordon Conference style" with morning and evening sessions and afternoons free for informal discussion. Extensive discussion will be encouraged at plenary sessions and a large amount of space will be available for posters to be displayed all week in a pleasant room with a good atmosphere for informal discussions. Formal presentation of poster papers will be scheduled

152 Announcement

following the evening sessions, which will be short. The abstract deadline for poster papers is March 31, 1987.

Further information is available from
Professor Donald G. Truhlar
Department of Chemistry
University of Minnesota
207 Pleasant Street S.E.
Minneapolis, MN 55455, USA